profileimage

Stéphanie Florquin joined GAMS in 2015. She coordinates the International Community of Practice on FGM, a bilingual web platform aiming at facilitating the exchange of experiences and expertise between actors working against FGM, funded by the Joint Programme on FGM of UNFPA and UNICEF. She has been on the Board of the END FGM EU Network since 2018.

With an initial training in International Development, Stéphanie specialised in gender mainstreaming in development NGOs. Stéphanie has a Master’s degree in sociology “Gender and Social Policies” from the University of Toulouse (France). Before joining GAMS, Stéphanie coordinated a French LGBT (lesbian, gay, biE, trans*) association. She also worked for the European network ILGA-Europe and as a consultant for a parliamentary report on gender mainstreaming in French cooperation.

Since joining GAMS, Stephanie has conducted several qualitative research projects for GAMS such as:

  • A diagnosis of the sexual health and rights needs of women affected by FGM living in Brussels (2019)
  • The qualitative component of the EIGE FGM risk study (2017)
  • A study of men’s position on FGM as part of the Men Speak Out project (2015)
  • Etc.

She is regularly called upon to provide expertise in publications and conferences, in Europe and internationally.

Until 2021 Stéphanie coordinated the Concerted Strategies against FGM, the Belgian network of professionals working with a public affected by FGM (since 2015) and the Brussels FGM Network (since its creation in 2018). She also had the role of deputy director between November 2019 and March 2021. In this capacity, she supported the director in all aspects of the management of the association (project monitoring, HR management, fundraising, etc.).

Apart from her professional duties, Stéphanie is a feminist activist. She has been based in France since 2021.

profileimage

Stéphanie Florquin a rejoint le GAMS en 2015. Elle coordonne la Communauté de pratiques internationale sur les MGF , une plateforme web bilingue visant à faciliter l’échange d’expériences et d’expertise entre acteurs·rices œuvrant contre les MGF, financé par le Programme conjoint sur les MGF de l’UNFPA et l’UNICEF. Elle siège au Conseil d’Administration du réseau européen END FGM EU Network depuis 2018.

De formation initiale en Développement international, Stéphanie s’est spécialisée sur l’intégration de l’approche genre (gender mainstreaming) dans les ONG de développement. Stéphanie est diplômée d’un Master en sociologie « Genre et Politiques sociales », à l’Université de Toulouse (France). Avant de rejoindre le GAMS Stéphanie a coordonné une association LGBT (lesbienne, gay, biE, trans*) française. Elle a également eu des missions au sein du réseau européen ILGA-Europe et en tant que consultante pour la rédaction d’un rapport parlementaire portant sur l’intégration du genre dans la coopération française.

Depuis son arrivée au GAMS, Stéphanie a mené plusieurs recherches qualitatives pour le GAMS telles que :

  • Un diagnostic des besoins en matière de santé et droits sexuels des femmes concernées par les MGF vivant à Bruxelles (2019)
  • Le volet qualitatif de l’étude de risque de MGF de EIGE (2017)
  • Une étude de la position des hommes vis-à-vis de l’excision dans le cadre du projet Men Speak Out (2015)
  • Etc.

Elle est régulièrement amenée à apporter une expertise dans des publications et des conférences, en Europe et à l’international.

Jusqu’en 2021 Stéphanie coordonnait les Stratégies concertées de lutte contre les MGF, le réseau belge de professionnel·le·s travaillant auprès d’un public concerné par les MGF (depuis 2015) et le Réseau bruxellois MGF (depuis sa création en 2018). Elle avait également le rôle de directrice adjointe entre novembre 2019 et mars 2021. A ce titre elle soutenait la directrice dans tous les aspects de la gestion de l’asbl (suivi de projets, gestion RH, recherches de financements, etc.).

En dehors de ses fonctions professionnelles, Stéphanie est militante féministe. Elle est basée en France depuis 2021.