profileimage

Mélanie Jocquet coordinates the activities of GAMS Belgium in Wallonia. This means that she is also responsible for the reception, approach, social follow-up, training and community activities. She works in our offices in Namur.

Before joining our team in 2020, Mélanie already worked in a social service specialising in the rights of migrants. She provided assistance to people who asked for help with their various procedures (asylum, family reunification, regularisation, …). She also did the same work in penal institutions and offered social and legal support to detainees who requested it.

She also worked for an NGO working to improve access to health care for people in emergency situations.

Through these various meetings, she became aware of the particular vulnerability of women who experience a continuum of gender-based violence, both in their country of origin, during their migration process and during their asylum procedure in Belgium.

profileimage

Mélanie Jocquet coordonne les activités du GAMS Belgique en Wallonie. Dans ce cadre, elle se charge aussi de l’accueil, de l’orientation et du suivi social ainsi que des formations et activités communautaires. Elle est basée à l’antenne de Namur.

Avant son arrivée au sein de l’équipe en 2020, Mélanie avait déjà travaillé dans un service social spécialisé en droits des étrangers. Elle accompagnait toutes personnes désireuses d’obtenir de l’aide dans leurs différentes procédures (asile, regroupement familial, régularisation, …). Elle accomplissait également cette mission au sein des établissements pénitentiaires, apportant un soutien social et juridique à toute personne détenue qui en faisait la demande.

Elle a aussi travaillé dans une ONG visant à promouvoir l’accès aux soins des personnes en situation de grande précarité.

C’est à travers ses différentes rencontres qu’elle a pris conscience que les femmes étaient particulièrement vulnérables, cumulant bon nombre de violences, tant dans leur pays d’origine que dans leur parcours d’exil et procédures en Belgique.