profileimage

Samia Youssouf is a community animator at the GAMS Liege Branch. She has fought against female circumcision for many years, in Belgium and Djibouti. Between
2011-2015 Samia had a contract to work on female circumcision at the Family Planning Center Louise Michel. Since January 2015 she works at GAMS Belgium which opened a branch in Liege, where there is a lot of asylum seekers. She is responsible for the activities in the Province of Liege.

“Either we go to the women who underwent female circumcision, in Alpha courses, at the ONE, in training schools… Or they come to us. I meet with the families concerned, mothers and fathers, following-up each individually, we work with many different partners such as the Family Planning Centers.. The women come to see me and if necessary I steer them towards other structures for a medical or legal follow-up. We also have activities from women’s groups. I have an office at the ONE and make interventions at Centers for Asylum Seekers. The majority of the people we meet are asylum seekers.”

Samia also leads ground missions, in Djibouti, Ethiopia, Somaliland. She has left many times with the NGO Respect for Change to raise awareness about female circumcision. In 2012 she took part in a campaign in Djibouti where important public figures condemn female circumcision.

“My personal victory, is my daughter, she is intact. In my family in Djibouti, female circumcision is on the decline. My mother didn’t have her last granddaughter circumcised. It’s a victory.”

profileimage

Samia Youssouf est animatrice communautaire à l’Antenne Liège du GAMS. Elle combat l’excision depuis de nombreuses années, en Belgique et à Djibouti. De 2011-2015 Samia eu un contrat pour travailler sur l’excision au Centre de Planning Louise Michel. Depuis janvier 2015 elle travaille au GAMS Belgique qui a ouvert une antenne à Liège, où il y a beaucoup de demandeurs d’asile. Elle est responsable des activités de la Province de Liège.

« Soit on va aller vers les femmes qui ont subi l’excision, en cours d’Alpha, à l’ONE, dans les écoles de formation… Soit elles viennent vers nous. Je rencontre les familles concernées, les mères et les pères, on fait un suivi individuel, on travaille avec différents partenaires comme les Centres de planning familial… Les femmes viennent me voir et si nécessaire je les dirige vers d’autres structures pour un suivi médical ou juridique. On a aussi des activités de groupes de femmes. Je tiens une permanence à l’ONE et je fais des interventions aux centres de demandeurs d’asile. La plupart des personnes que nous rencontrons sont demandeurs d’asile. »

Samia mène également des missions de terrain, à Djibouti, Ethiopie, Somaliland. Elle est partie plusieurs fois avec l’ONG Respect for Change pour faire des sensibilisations sur l’excision. En 2012 elle a participé à une campagne à Djibouti où des personnalités importantes condamnaient l’excision.

« Ma victoire personnelle, c’est ma fille, elle est intacte. Dans ma famille, restée à Djibouti, l’excision recule. Ma maman n’a pas fait exciser sa dernière petite fille. C’est une victoire. »